View all news

Bristol announced ‘Regional University of the Year’ by LTA British Tennis Awards

28 May 2021

Sport, Exercise and Health are pleased to announce that University of Bristol Tennis has been named by the LTA with, not one, but two accolades, in the South and South-West Regional Awards.

LTA Tennis Regional Award

Launched in 2015the annual LTA Tennis Awards highlight the incredible achievements and contributions of outstanding tennis volunteers, coaches, officials, venues and players across Britain. 

The highly sought-after University of the Year Award recognises the work of our staff Tennis Team and student-led Tennis Club both on and off courtin supporting students in their sport and promoting participation in Tennis.  

In the 2019/20 season UBTC welcomed over 340 members making it one of the largest sports clubs at the University.  

Following the announcement of Bristol’s Award, Director of Tennis, Andy Trott commented: 

“I am incredibly proud of my team, and the student-led University of Bristol Tennis Club (UBTC) Committee. They’ve worked tirelessly, and always with enthusiasmalongside our team of staff across the Division, University and Bristol SU throughout the past 18-months to keep students playing tennis.” 

In addition, the Disability Award has been scooped by University of Bristol Tennis Coach, Ben Hardwick, who is integral to the success of our Inclusive Tennis programme. This programme seeks to support our players with a disability, offering sessions for wheelchair users and those with visual impairments.

About Ben’s achievement, Helen Abbott, former LTA Open Court Lead for Avon, said: 

“Ben is a very worthy winner of the Regional Disability Tennis Award. [He] has shown a great deal of understanding around the impact this last year has had on disabled players. [He] is a very popular and competent inclusive coach, always willing to learn and develop his skills - well done Ben!” 


Further information

Bristol will now go forward to National round of the Awards. The 2021 LTA Tennis Awards ceremony, which will crown the national winners, will be broadcast on the LTA’s YouTube channel on Thursday 24 June at 20.00 

Edit this page