National Pool Lifeguarding Qualification (NPLQ)

National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ)

Royal Lifesaving Society logo NPLQ

The University of Bristol Swimming Pool is a course provider of the Royal Life Saving Society (RLSS) Pool Lifeguard training course. The NPLQ is the most awarded, internationally-recognised, lifeguard qualification in the UK and Ireland.

Course requirements: Participants must be 16 years of age at the date of the final assessment and comply with all pre-requisite swim skills outlined by the RLSS.  

Courses run throughout the year. Course dates will be published on the RLSS website and promoted via the University of Bristol Sport Instagram page.

Confirmed 2023 NPLQ dates:

  • 21 August - 26 August
  • 23 October - 28 October
Edit this page