View all news

School of Mathematics academics awarded Turing Fellowship

4 October 2021

Six academics from the Institute for Statistical Science have been awarded Turing Fellowships from The Alan Turing Institute.

Congratulations to Haeran Cho, Sidharth Jaggi, Daniel Lawson, Henry Reeve, Patrick Rubin-Delanchy and Nick Whiteley who have been named as fellows for the 2021-2022 academic year. 

Turing Fellows are scholars with proven research excellence in data science, artificial intelligence or a related field, whose research could be enhanced through active involvement with the Turing network of universities and partners.

The Fellowships span many fields including key Turing interests in urban analytics, defence and health.  

Professor Oliver Johnson, Director of the Institute for Statistical Science, said; ‘I am delighted that these fellowships will allow us to strengthen the links between the School of Mathematics and The Alan Turing Institute. These academics produced exciting proposals at the heart of modern statistics and data science, and I look forward to seeing the results of their research.’

Further information

Edit this page