Dates (University Almanac)

Open and visit days

  2019/20
Postgraduate open day 20 November 2019
Undergraduate offer holder visit days

29 January 2020
8 February 2020
12 February 2020
7 March 2020
18 March 2020
1 April 2020
22 April 2020
29 April 2020

Undergraduate open days (June) 19 and 20 June 2020
Undergraduate open day (September) 5 September 2020
Open afternoon 21 October 2020

Key academic dates

Please note that the academic dates below relate to the standard teaching, examination and term dates at the University, however the academic dates may vary for some programmes of study, in particular postgraduate or professional programmes.

  2019/202020/21
Welcome Week 23 - 27 September 2019 21 - 25 September 2020
Teaching Block 1 30 September - 20 December 2019 28 September - 18 December 2020
Christmas vacation (students) 23 December 2019 - 10 January 2020 21 December 2020 - 8 January 2021
January assessment period 13 - 24 January 2020 11 - 22 January 2021
Teaching Block 2 27 January - 7 May 2020* 25 January - 7 May 2021
Winter degree congregations 18 - 20 February 2020  TBC
Easter vacation (students) 30 March - 17 April 2020 29 March - 16 April 2021
Summer revision week 11 - 15 May 2020 10 - 14 May 2021
Summer assessment period 18 May - 5 June 2020 17 May - 4 June 2021
Summer vacation (students) 15 June - 18 September 2020 14 June - TBC
Summer degree congregations 16 - 24 July 2020  TBC
Re-sits and supplementary exams 24 August - 4 September 2020 TBC

Note: Winter and Summer congregations morning and afternoon

*Important information: The end of 2019/20 Teaching Block 2 will now be 7 May 2020, and not 8 May as originally timetabled. 

University closure dates and bank holidays

  2019/202020/21
University Christmas closure

Tuesday 24 December 2019 (CD)
Wednesday 25 December 2019 (BH)
Thursday 26 December 2019 (BH)
Friday 27 December 2019 (CD)
Monday 30 December 2019 (CD)
Tuesday 31 December 2019 (CD)
Wednesday 1 January 2020 (BH)
Thursday 2 January 2020 (CD)

Thursday 24 December 2020 (CD)
Friday 25 December 2020 (BH)
Monday 28 December 2020 (BH)
Tuesday 29 December 2020 (CD)
Wednesday 30 December 2020 (CD)
Thursday 31 December 2020 (CD)
Friday 1 January 2021 (BH)
Monday 4 January 2021 (CD)

University Easter closure Friday 10 April 2020 (BH)
Monday 13 April 2020 (BH)
Tuesday 14 April 2020 (CD)
Friday 2 April 2021 (BH)
Monday 5 April 2021 (BH)
Tuesday 6 April 2021 (CD)
May bank holidays 8 and 25 May 2020 * 3 and 31 May 2021
University summer closure Monday 31 August (BH) and Tuesday 1 (CD) September 2020

Monday 30 (BH) and Tuesday 31 (CD) August 2021

BH = Bank holiday / CD = Closure day

* Important information: the early May Bank Holiday will now be on 8 May 2020 and not 4 May, due to a change announced by HM Government on 8 June 2019.

University key dates calendar

Current students and staff can add the ‘UoB key dates calendar’ in Outlook, see the guidance.

Edit this page