About us

Here at the School of Physics our researchers are addressing some of the most fundamental questions in science and are pushing the boundaries in emerging fields such as nanotechnology and smart materials. This research shapes and informs our teaching, offering students an exciting and varied curriculum.

Our school

Our school is home to 60 academic and 65 research staff, carrying out research spanning astrophysics, particle physics, quantum and soft matter, quantum engineering technologies, materials and devices and theoretical physics. We also have 170 postgraduate students and more than 600 undergraduate students enrolled in our extensive range of taught programmes, to which we are committed to providing an excellent learning experience and the highest standards of teaching.

Working here 

We offer our staff a wide range of benefits and support, from childcare support to flexible working arrangements. We also have a comprehensive staff development package and specific support for our research staff, including an early careers forum. Find out what it’s like to work here.

Equality, diversity and inclusion

We are committed to creating a diverse and inclusive environment for our students and staff and have achieved Juno Practitioner status and an Athena Swan Bronze Award in recognition of our efforts to support equal opportunities. Find out more about our equality, diversity and inclusion work.

Our history

We’ve been making our mark on science for more than a hundred years. In that time, our school has been home to renowned figures, including Nobel Laureates Paul Dirac, Nevill Mott and Cecil Powell, and been at the forefront of breakthroughs such as the Aharonov-Bohm Effect. Find out more about the history of our school.

Did you know?

  • Our physics student society Chaos won Best Academic and Careers Society in 2018 and Best Society in the 2019 National Student Society Awards.
  • Our High Performance Computing Centre is one of the most powerful research computers in the UK
  • Home to Nobel Laureates Professor Cecil Powell and Sir Nevill Francis Mott.
  • Our researchers analyse data from CERN’s Large Hadron Collider.
  • Our researchers are using data from JWST to study the atmospheres of exoplanets.
Edit this page