View all news

Autumn Prize Giving: Celebrating law student achievements

Press release issued: 9 November 2016

The University of Bristol Law School honoured its outstanding students of the 2015/16 academic year in the Autumn Prize Giving Ceremony last week.

This year's Autumn Prize Giving Ceremony was held on Wednesday 2nd November with the work of the following students being recognised:

  • Phoebe Hirst, Best Student in Constitutional Law
  • Sadie Welch, Best Student in Crime, Justice and Society
  • Kevin  Tan and Tristan Goodman, Best Students in Jurisprudence with Tristan Goodman, also receiving Best Undergraduate Paper in Second Year Land Law Exam
  • Toby Cohen, Best Student in 1st Year
  • Antigoni Thornton-Granville, Best Student in Contract Law and Sophie Keegan Best Student in Contract Law for Students on LLB Law with a Language
  • Sara Louden Best First Year MA Performance
  • Rosa Shand received the Shoosmiths Prize for the 2nd year student who has shown an outstanding contribution to the law school
  • Megan Warren Lister Best Overall Performance in Law of Tort, sponsored by Macfarlanes

The ceremony also presented an opportunity to celebrate some of our most outstanding international students who had secured International Internship Scholarships. These were Dylan Bub, Brenda Wai Yin Chow, Kristin Chi Yan Hoo, Thiyana Ilangchizian, Yuan Jia Leong, Wenxuan Sean Lim, Anika Mohammed, Ji Min Teo, Shing Chi Tse and Yung Wang.

The School was also delighted to award the Eileen Drummond and Sheila Anderson Award to Victoria Lynch, Adam James Tovey, Akousa-Rose Oppm and Emily Jayne Rigler Gillingham.

On receipt of his award Mr. Tovey said;

“I am absolutely overwhelmed and honoured that I have been selected to receive this award. It means the world to me. This award has truly has motivated me to strive to achieve the best possible degree.”

Ms. Gillingham said;

“I am delighted to accept the Award. I am certain it will make a significant difference to my ability to pursue my studies and enhance my University of Bristol experience.

The Law School would like to congratulate all award winners this year. 

Edit this page