Core academic team

The Institute's core academic team comprises a dedicated group of academic staff who are committed to communicating and delivering the Institute's vision.

Professor Stephen Hallett Co-Director, Bristol Composites Institute, Director, Composites University Technology Centre (UTC), Professor in Composite Structures Structures
Professor Ole Thomsen Co-Director, Bristol Composites Institute, NCC Professor of Composites Design and Manufacture Manufacturing & Design
Professor Giuliano Allegri Professor of Structural Integrity of Composites Structures
Dr Anna Baker Lecturer Materials
Professor Janice Barton Professor of Experimental Mechanics Structures
Dr Jonathan Belnoue Senior Lecturer in Composites Process Simulation Manufacturing & Design
Professor Ian Bond Faculty Pro-Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Engineering Materials
Dr Neha Chandarana Lecturer in Biobased and Sustainable Composites Materials
Samudra Dasgupta Lecturer Structures / Materials
Professor Stephen Eichhorn Professor in Materials Science and Engineering, and Director, Centre for Doctoral Training in Composites Science, Engineering and Manufacturing (COSEM CDT)
Dr Ian Farrow Senior Lecturer in Composites Structural Design Manufacturing & Design
Dr Rainer Groh Senior Lecturer in Digital Engineering of Structures Structures
Professor Ian Hamerton Professor in Polymers and Composite Materials Materials
Dr Paul Harper Lecturer Manufacturing & Design
Dr Dmitry Ivanov Associate Professor in Composites Manufacturing Manufacturing & Design
Dr Luiz Kawashita Senior Lecturer in Composite Mechanics Structures
Dr Byung Chul (Eric) Kim

Associate Professor in Composites Design and Manufacture

Manufacturing & Design
Dr James Kratz Senior Lecturer in Composites Processing Materials
Dr Terence Macquart Senior Lecturer in Aeroelastics Structures
Dr Sanjit Nayak Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Composite Materials Discovery'   
Professor Alberto Pirrera Professor of Non-linear Structural Mechanics, EPSRC Research Fellow Structures
Dr Jemma Rowlandson Lecturer in Thermodynamics Materials
Dr Karthik Ram Ramakrishnan Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering Structures
Dr Sebastien Rochat Senior Lecturer Materials
Professor Fabrizio Scarpa Professor of Smart Materials and Structures Materials
Dr Mark Schenk Senior Lecturer in Aerospace Engineering Structures
Dr Eleni Toumpanaki Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering Structures
Professor Richard Trask Professor of Advanced Materials, EPSRC Research Fellow Materials
Dr Iryna Tretiak Lecturer in Composites Manufacturing   Manufacturing and Design
Professor Paul Weaver Professor in Lightweight Structures Structures
Professor Michael Wisnom Professor of Aerospace Structures Structures
Dr Ben Woods Associate Professor in Aerospace Structures Structures
Edit this page