People

Page contents


Academic staff

NameTitleEmailResearchFull Contact Details
Calvert, Ian Teaching Associate in Classical Reception and English English/Classics literary relations c.1550-c.1830 and the reception of Augustan poetry in the long eighteenth century. Contact Ian Calvert
Chidwick, Hannah-Marie Lecturer in Classics and Ancient History Roman history, Latin literature, critical war studies, critical theory (esp. post-structuralist).  Contact Hannah-Marie Chidwick
Cole, Emma Lecturer in Liberal Arts and Classics emma.cole@bristol.ac.uk Greek and Roman tragedy, classical performance reception, esp. the reception of tragedy in avant-garde and experimental theatre [on research leave 2019-20].  Contact Emma Cole
Cole, Richard Research Associate in Ancient Greek History and Virtual Reality richard.cole@bristol.ac.uk Greek and Roman history, esp. Greek religion and late antique historiogrpahy; virtual reality, historical fiction, framing, and classical reception Contact Richard Cole
Coo, Lyndsay Senior Lecturer in Ancient Greek Language and Literature Greek Literature, Athenian Tragedy (esp. Sophocles). Contact Lyndsay Coo
Costantini, Leonardo Teaching Associate

Latin and Greek literature (esp. Apuleius, Petronius, Fronto, Vergil, and Lucian), Textual Criticism, Middle Platonism, Ancient Magic.

Contact Leonardo Costantini

Donelli, Giulia

(currently on maternity leave)

Teaching Associate in Latin Language

giulia.donelli@bristol.ac.uk

Classical literature, Greek poetry and drama.  Contact Giulia Donelli
Eidinow, Esther Chair in Ancient History Ancient Greek social and cultural history, esp. religion and magic; myth; historiography (esp. Herodotus and Thucydides); cognitive humanities; history of emotions. Contact Esther Eidinow
Finglass, Patrick Professor of Greek

Greek literature, especially tragedy and lyric poetry; Greek myth; history of scholarship; textual criticism.

Contact Patrick Finglass

Folit-Weinberg, Benjamin A.G. Leventis Fellow in Greek Studies bf0284@bristol.ac.uk Archaic and Classical Greek Poetry and Drama, Archaic and Classical Greek Philosophy, History of Thought Contact Benjamin Folit-Weinberg
Gourd, Elizabeth Project Co-ordinator for Bristol Classics Hub Classics outreach and widening participation. Contact Elizabeth Gourd
Hales, Shelley Senior Lecturer in Art & Visual Culture shelley.hales@bristol.ac.uk Ancient (esp. Roman) art, the reception of Roman material culture. Contact Shelley Hales
Jansen, Laura Senior Lecturer in Classics & Comparative Literature laura.jansen@bristol.ac.uk Greek & Latin language, literature and philosophy; comparative and hybrid literatures; Classics & Absence Studies; classical antiquity in twentieth-century writing. Contact Laura Jansen
Knippschild, Silke Senior Lecturer in Ancient History clzsk@bristol.ac.uk Ancient Near East, Greece, international relations and cross-cultural contacts. Contact Silke Knippschild
Lampe, Kurt Senior Lecturer in Classics clkwl@bristol.ac.uk Greek, Roman, and comparative philosophy and literature [on research leave TB2]. Contact Kurt Lampe
Liveley, Genevieve Reader in Classics g.liveley@bristol.ac.uk Narrative theory (ancient and modern), Lating poetry (esp. elegy), and classical reception [on research leave 2019-20]. Contact Genevieve Liveley
Martin, Paul Teaching Associate in Classics and Liberal Arts Greek literature (especially Greek Comedy), humour and parody in the ancient world, and Greek food culture. Contact Paul Martin
Michelakis, Pantelis Reader in Classics p.michelakis@bristol.ac.uk Greek literature and theatre, cultural transmission, and classical reception [on research leave 2019-20].  Contact Pantelis Michelakis
Momigliano, Nicoletta Professor of Aegean Studies n.momigliano@bristol.ac.uk Aegean bronze age, esp. Minoan Crete, and its reception. Contact Nicoletta Momigliano
O'Gorman, Ellen Senior Lecturer in Classics e.c.ogorman@bristol.ac.uk Latin literature, Augustan and post-Augustan poetry and prose. Contact Ellen O'Gorman
Pollmann, Karla Dean of the Faculty of Arts kp18796@bristol.ac.uk Classical literature and culture, Theology and Religious Studies (especially Early Christianity, and the interaction of Classical and early Christian thought). Contact Karla Pollmann
Sandwell, Bella Senior Lecturer in Ancient History bella.sandwell@bristol.ac.uk Roman religion, early Christianity, late antiquity.  Contact Bella Sandwell
Shaw, Edwin Lecturer in Ancient History Roman Republican history and literature, especially historiography.  Contact Edwin Shaw
Zajko, Vanda Reader in Classics v.zajko@bristol.ac.uk Reception of classical literature, particularly in the 20th century [on research leave TB2].  Contact Vanda Zajko

 

Emeriti staff

NameEmailTitleResearch
Buxton, Richard richard.g.a.buxton@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Greek literature (esp. tragedy), mythology and religion
Clark, Gillian gillian.clark@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emerita Late antiquity, early Christianity
Fowler, Robert robert.fowler@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Early Greek language and literature, Greek myth and religion
Kennedy, Duncan duncan.f.kennedy@bristol.ac.uk Professor Emeritus Latin literature, critical theory
Martindale, Charles Professor Emeritus  

Postgraduate tutors

NameEmail
Adam Brennan adam.brennan@bristol.ac.uk
Sara Contini
Martina Delucchi
Maiken Mosleth-King
Edit this page