Meet the team

Jane Bridgwater - Director of Legal Services and Deputy University Secretary

Jane was called to the Bar in 1986. Subsequently she qualified as a solicitor and became a partner and head of the employment unit at a commercial firm in Bristol. In 2000, Jane joined Burges Salmon, where she acted as a consultant from 2004 to 2007. Jane joined the Secretary’s Office as an employment lawyer in January 2005 and became Deputy Secretary in September 2006. In May 2007, Jane was appointed to the position of Director of Legal Services and Deputy Secretary.

Email: Jane.Bridgwater@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 455 3894 (Internal: 53894)
Working days: Monday - Friday 

Clare Smith - Associate Director of Legal Services

Clare has been qualified as a solicitor since 1999 and joined the University's Secretary's Office in 2006. Clare is responsible for advising on legal aspects of University transactions involving commercial, intellectual property/copyright and property issues (other than those which are research-related). 

Email: Clare.Smith@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 456 0220 (Internal: 60220)
Working days: Tuesday - Friday

Laura Trescothick-Martin - Associate Director of Legal Services

Laura qualified as a solicitor in 2004 and spent four years working for a law firm specialising in education law.  Laura joined the University in 2008 and specialises mainly in student related matters. Laura deals with student disciplinary cases, student mental health, appeals and complaints, including clerking hearings and litigation cases.  Laura also deals with student complaints to the Office of the Independent Adjudicator (OIA), safeguarding and criminal convictions.

Email: Laura.Trescothick-Martin@bristol.ac.uk     
Phone: (0117) 455 5269 (Internal: 55269)     
Working days: Monday - Friday

Keith Feeney - Senior University Lawyer

Keith was called to the Bar of England and Wales in 2003 and qualified as a solicitor in 2007. Prior to joining the University in 2008 Keith worked in private legal practice specialising  in litigation and alternative dispute resolution. Keith specialises mainly in student related matters, including student disciplinary cases, appeals and complaints, clerking hearings and student complaints to the Office of the Independent Adjudicator (OIA). Keith also advises on general matters including Bribery Act compliance and contract matters as required.

Email: Keith.Feeney@bristol.ac.uk     
Phone: (0117) 455 2444 (Internal: 52444)     
Working days: Monday - Friday

Jane Johnson - University Lawyer

Jane qualified in 1996 as a solicitor and worked initially in company & commercial law in private practice.  She has specialised in employment law since 2000, and has worked in the private sector and for a number of different of local authorities.  Most recently she has worked for Bristol City Council in a range of roles covering employment, commercial, governance and public procurement law; she was a team leader for the commercial and governance team and business manager for the council's legal service.  She joined the University in May 2021 with a primary focus on employment law.

Email: Jane.Johnson@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 455 2134 (Internal: 52134)  
Working days: Monday - Friday

Jenna Cook - Student Case Officer 

Jenna has worked in the Secretary's Office since April 2020. She deals in particular with student related matters such as fitness to study cases and appeals, including clerking hearings. Prior to this, Jenna held a role in Student Administration within the University, and has a background in the legal and finance sectors. She also has a Postgraduate Diploma in Legal Practice.

Email: Jenna.Cook@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 455 9922 (Internal: 59922)     
Working days: Monday - Friday

Rebekah Randell - University Lawyer

Email: Rebekah.Randell@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 456 0042 (Internal 60042)   
Working days: Monday - Friday

Philippa Guereca – Student Complaints and Mediation Manager

Philippa receives and deals with all appeal applications at the University Stage of the Academic Appeal Process (under the examination regulations) and all student complaints at the University Stage of the Student Complaints Procedure (PDF, 61kB). She also manages the University of Bristol Mediation Service, which is available to staff and students, providing a forum for a confidential constructive and safe exchange of information with a view to early dispute resolution. Philippa has a background in Psychology and Special Education and is a qualified counsellor, advocate and accredited mediator.

Email: Philippa.Guereca@bristol.ac.uk     
Phone: (0117) 455 2456 (Internal: 52456)     
Working days: Monday - Thursday

Leanne Dickerson - Student Case Officer

Email:  Leanne.Dickerson@bristol.ac.uk 
Phone: (0117) 455 1338 (Internal: 51338)    
Working days: Monday - Friday

April Buxton - Student Case Officer

Email: April.Buxton@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 455 3560 (Internal: 53560)        
Working days: Monday - Friday

Hannah Price - Student Case Officer

Email: Hannah.Price@bristol.ac.uk 
Phone: (0117) 455 9843 (Internal 59843)
Working days: Tuesday - Friday

Rachel Paterson - Senior University Lawyer

Rachel qualified as a solicitor in December 2000 and has worked at the University since May 2011. Rachel advises on non-research related commercial contracts and intellectual property issues.

Email: Rachel.Paterson@bristol.ac.uk   
Phone: (0117) 455 6388 (Internal: 56388)    
Working days: Monday - Friday

Hal Jordan - Senior University Lawyer

Hal advises the University in relation to‚Äč all legal aspects of its property matters. He qualified as a solicitor in 1987 and joined the Secretary's Office in 2011 having previously been in private practice.

Email: Hal.Jordan@bristol.ac.uk     
Phone: (0117) 455 4526 (Internal: 54526)     
Working days: Monday, Wednesday, Thursday

Susan Thomas - Senior University Lawyer

Email: Susan.Thomas@bristol.ac.uk   
Phone: (0117) 455 3155  (Internal: 53155)    
Working days: Monday, Wednesday - Friday

Anne Batanero de Montenegro - Senior University Lawyer

Email: Anne.Batanerodemontenegro@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 455 TBC  (Internal: TBC)    
Working days: Monday - Friday

Viviana Di Stefano - University Lawyer (Avvocato)

Email: Viviana.Distefano@bristol.ac.uk 
Phone: (0117) 394 1841 (Internal: 41841)     
Working days: Monday - Friday

Lily Bland - University Lawyer 

Email: Lily.Bland@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 455 5526 (Internal: 55526)
Working days: Monday - Friday

Cristina Serna-Benezet - University Lawyer 

Email: Cristina.Sernabenezet@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 455 3626 (Internal: 53626)
Working days: Monday - Friday

Amanda Bateman - Insurance Manager

Amanda leads the Insurance team and is responsible for all insurance matters at the University. She joined Bristol in August 2021 after working in similar roles for the University of Essex and the University of Roehampton. Prior to her University roles, Amanda worked in the insurance industry, mostly as a Commercial Underwriter.  She holds insurance and risk management qualifications with the Chartered Insurance Institute and the Institute of Risk Management.

Email: Amanda.Bateman@bristol.ac.uk      
Phone: (0117) 455 9471 (Internal: 59471) Mobile 0779 095 4756
Working days: Monday - Friday

Joanne Cox - Insurance Assistant

Email: Joanne.Cox@bristol.ac.uk      
Phone: (0117) 455 7970 (Internal: 57970)     
Working days: Monday - Friday

Mel Prodanovic - Insurance Assistant (Systems & Projects)

Email: Mel.Prodanovic@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 455 2898
Working days: Monday - Friday

Henry Stuart - Information Governance Manager and Data Protection Officer

Henry leads the Information Governance Team and is responsible for ensuring that information-related legislation is implemented and complied with across the University. This includes data protection, freedom of information, records management and other related areas. He has undertaken similar roles within the higher education sector since 2005, and joined the University in October 2017.

Email: Henry.Stuart@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 455 6325 (Internal: 56325)    
Working days: Monday - Friday

Christabel Oseghale - Information Governance Officer

Email: Christabel.Oseghale@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 455 5151 (Internal: 55151)    
Working days: Monday - Thursday

Cecilia Pready - Information Rights Assistant

Email: Cecilia.Pready@bristol.ac.uk    
Phone: (0117) 455 6366 (Internal: 56366)    
Working days: Wednesday - Friday

Kay Cook - Senior Executive Assistant   

Email: Kay.Cook@bristol.ac.uk
Phone: (0117) 455 6548 (Internal: 56548)     
Working days: Monday - Friday

Cheryl Belchamber - Administrative Assistant

Cheryl joined the Secretary’s Office in 2019 as a temporary member of staff to assist the Senior Executive Assistant. Cheryl has since secured a permanent position as an Administrative Assistant and is responsible for general office administration.

Email: Cheryl.Belchamber@bristol.ac.uk     
Phone: (0117) 455 7269 (Internal: 57269)     
Working days: Monday - Friday
 

For general enquiries, please email: Secretarys-Office@bristol.ac.uk