View all news

Honorary degrees awarded at the University of Bristol – Monday 18 July

Dr Jennifer Dixon

Dr Gerald Avison

Press release issued: 18 July 2016

The University of Bristol is awarding honorary degrees to Dr Jennifer Dixon CBE and Dr Gerald Avison at degree ceremonies taking place today [18 July] in the Wills Memorial Building.

Dr Jennifer Dixon CBE, Chief Executive of the Health Foundation, will receive an honorary Doctor of Science in recognition of her contribution to the health sector.

She qualified in medicine at the University of Bristol in 1984 and subsequently gained an MSc in Public Health and a PhD in Health Services Research from the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

After holding multiple positions across the health sector, Dr Dixon is currently a visiting professor at the London School of Economics, Imperial College and the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

In 2009, Jennifer was elected a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and awarded a CBE for services to public health in 2013.

A Doctor of Engineering will be presented to Dr Gerald Avison, the founder and Non-Executive Director of TTP Group - a Queen's Award-winning technology and product development company.

Gerald graduated from the University of Bristol in 1962 with a degree in Aeronautical Engineering and returned to undertake a PhD in the determination of icing patterns on slender delta wings (Concorde).

He then worked as an engineer, manager and consultant before founding TTP in 1986, providing the technology behind a range of areas including communications, instrumentation and medical products.

It has customers across the world, incubates new companies and manages a Venture Capital fund which invests in early stage technology start-ups.

An honorary degree is a major accolade, awarded in recognition of outstanding achievement and distinction in a field or activity consonant with the University's mission.         

Further information

The official photographs and speeches delivered by the public orators at each ceremony are available to the media on request from the University's Press Office. Please email

Edit this page