View all news

Engineering students awarded prestigious scholarships

The Dean’s International Intern Scholarship winners

The International Entry Scholars

Press release issued: 11 November 2015

The Faculty of Engineering recently held an event to celebrate student success and present scholarships and awards to nearly 130 students.

Eleven international students were awarded the Dean’s International Intern Scholarship in recognition of their high achievement during internships in their home countries.

The winners ranged from a student who worked with Spookfish Innovations in India - a start-up company founded by a Bristol Alumnus - to one who interned at Norcosult’s Hydropower and Engineering Department in Norway and has subsequently been offered a job next year, to students working on the development of smartphone cameras and new technologies.

Dean of Engineering Professor Andrew Nix, said: ‘Bristol has a strong alumni and industry network overseas who continue to provide fantastic internship opportunities for our students. We have awarded a record number of scholarships this year. The applications were, as always, excellent and it was a joy to read the fascinating and valuable engineering work our students have supported all around the world during the summer.’

The Engineering students who received the awards are:

  • Zhening Yue (Electrical & Electronic Engineering - China Unicom, China)
  • Jin Yao Tan (Mechanical Engineering - Gryphon Energy, Malaysia)
  • Kaviraj Singh Khurana (Aerospace Engineering - Thai Airways International Public Ltd, Thailand)
  • Mudit Gupta (Computer Science - Spookfish Innovations, India)
  • Fredrik Fougner (Civil Engineering - Norcosult Hydropower and Engineering Department, Norway)
  • Kin Onn Lee (Mechanical Engineering - Eco World Development Group, Malaysia)
  • Ronald Yim (Aerospace Engineering – Airbus Group, China)
  • Natalie Ong Zhi Xia (Aerospace Engineering - Composite Cluster Singapore, Singapore)
  • Numair Idrees Padela (Mechanical Engineering - Hascol Petroleum Limited, Pakistan)
  • Xibo Geng (Aerospace Engineering - Power Vision Technology, China)
  • Mami Takechi (Maths and Computer Science – Acutelogic, Japan)

One of the employers, Sudeep Sundaram, Managing Director of Spookfish Innovations, commented: ‘I'm very pleased, but not surprised that Mudit Gupta has received the internship scholarship for his efforts over the summer. Mudit is unrelenting in his approach towards solving all tasks handed to him, irrespective of the technical complexities involved. His work at Spookfish has contributed, in no small part, for piloting a flagship project that the company will soon be showcasing as one of its most innovative. We eagerly look forward to working with Mudit and more interns from Bristol in the coming years.’

The students themselves were enthusiastic about the benefits of their internships, one said: “On numerous occasions, I met various clients of the company and provided technical demonstration of the products I had developed. This greatly helped me in improving my communication and interpersonal skills.”

The event also celebrated the International Entry Scholarships, awarded to international students who joined the University in 2015 with exceptionally high grades at A level or equivalent.

This year two new awards have also been introduced.

Professor Ian Lane, Senior Technical Expert from Airbus Group, presented the inaugural Airbus Group Scholarship to four new Engineering undergraduates: Kate Goldup; Kathryn Pugh; Megan Reynolds and Joanna Savage. Airbus is a close industrial partner of the Faculty and the scholarships form part of an innovative outreach and widening participation investment, with a particular emphasis on encouraging more women to take up engineering. The winners will participate in a set of joint outreach initiatives between Airbus and the University of Bristol.

Attendees at the event also watched the winning entry of the First Year Industrial Internship video competition by Matt Duffin and Ben Allen. The Computer Science undergraduates completed a summer internship at TDC and were worthy winners of the £250 prize. Due to the high standard of video entries, which all highlighted the benefits of completing an internship, runners-up prizes were also presented at this jam-packed award celebration.


Above left: Students awarded the Airbus Group Scholarship with Professor Ian Lane (left) from Airbus and Professor Andrew Nix (right), Dean of Engineering. Above right: The First Year Industrial Internship video competition winners.

Edit this page