Postcards from the future: rewriting the script for women in STEM

7 March 2015, 10.00 AM - 8 March 2015, 5.00 PM

University of Oxford

Register now for only £15 including lunches!

Panel discussion: Institute policy - a driver of change?
Workshops: Unconscious bias training;  Time and stress management; Neuro-linguistic programming; other employability skills

Then join us for our Annual Conference taking place on March 7th- 8th, 2015 in Oxford.

The conference will motivate, inspire, and promote women across all STEM subjectsthrough a series of talks by prominent members of the STEM community in the UK and EU, panel discussions regarding legislation and support schemes for under-represented women in academia, workshops on personal branding, negotiation and other key employability skills and interactive discussion of men and women roles in the effort for a gender balance in STEM.

This event promises to be filled with exciting activities that will challenge our views of women in the scientific world, and will present an exciting opportunity for you to be inspired, add to your skills, make new connections, discuss your own views with like-minded people and encourage you to goals and careers.

Confirmed speakers include:

Amali De Alwis - Head of Code First Girls
Prof Dame Sue Bailey - Chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges
Sue Cooper – Non-Executive Director of Skills4uk Ltd 
Dr Ellie Cosgrave – Engineer and Research Associate at UCL’s Department of Science Technology Engineering and Public Policy (UCL STEaPP), Co-Founder and Director of ScienceGrrl
Syrie Crouch - Vice President, Shell
Dr Emily Flashman – Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow and L’Oréal-UNESCO Fellow for Women in Science 2011
Prof Julie Gray -Professor of Plant Cell Signalling and Co-director of the Robert Hill Institute and member of Women@TUoS Steering Group
Prof Susan Lea - Statutory Chair of Microbiology, Oxford
Dr Carol Marsh - Ex-President, Women's Engineering Society 
Dr Elizabeth Poskitt - Ex-President of the BFWG
Katrina Roberts – Vice President, American Express
Prof Gwyneth Stallard OBE – Chair of the London Mathematical Society’s (LMS) Women in Mathematics Committee
Prof Irene Tracey MA (Oxon), D.Phil (PhD), FRCA – Nuffield Professor Anaesthetic Science & Director, Oxford

Contact information

If you have any questions, please write to us at Visit the website: 

Travelling from outside of Oxford? Check back soon for our advice on places to stay and getting to Oxford!

Register now for only £15 including lunches!

We look forward to welcoming you at our conference!

Edit this page