University constitution

The University is a chartered corporation and an exempt charity, whose legal status derives from a royal charter granted in 1909. The University's objects, powers and framework of governance are set out in the Charter and supporting statutes and ordinances, which are published annually in the Statutes, Ordinances, Regulations and Official Record.

The Charter and Statutes require the University to have four separate bodies - Court, Board of Trustees, Senate and Convocation - each with clearly defined functions.

The Senior Staff oversee the governance arrangements and ensure that all agreements are fit for purpose.

Useful documents

Other useful documents which ensure effective strategic leadership and management of the University include the Annual report and financial statements, the Review of the year, the University's vision and strategy and the Delegation Schedule which identifies the responsibilities and delegated authorities for making key decisions in the name of, or on behalf of, the University of Bristol.