View all news

Excellent Teaching Award results for the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences

The MB21 team (Joe McAllister, Joanna Howarth and Sarah Allsop) who won the Vice Chancellor's Award for Education

Awardees Alice Robson, Nigel Savery and Kara van Aelst

8 June 2018

Each year the Bristol Teaching Awards recognise members of staff who have made an outstanding contribution to teaching, the provision of support for students and education more generally.

The awards are a joint venture between Bristol SU and the University. Candidates from each Faculty were nominated in February and March for either staff-led or student-led awards which were presented at the awards ceremony on June 5.  

This year the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences did extremely well with Nigel Savery, from the School of Biochemistry, receiving the Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching, highlighting his excellent and passionate contribution to teaching,

Alice Robson, Kara van Aelst and Mark Dillingham, who make up the Biochemistry MSci Research Training Unit Team, received the University Award for Education, for developing and delivering the very successful Research Training Unit on the new MSci programme. 

Joanna Howarth from the School of Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, along with Sarah Allsop and Joe McAllister from Health Sciences were awarded the University Award for Education for their fantastic job in delivering a new innovative and exciting undergraduate curriculum (MB21) for Bristol medical students. The MB21 team also took away the coveted 'Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Education', awarded to one individual or team by the Vice-Chancellor, in recognition of their exceptional contribution to education and enhancement of the student experience.

You can find the full list of the winners on the University news article

Edit this page