View all news

Recent Honours and Awards 2012

29 October 2012

Recent Honours and Awards 2012


Congratulations to Kate Nobe’s on her promotion to Professor of cell Biology - September 2012.



Congratulations to Alastair Poole on his election as a Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society. 

Welcome to Thelma Lovick, a newly appointed Hon Senior Research Fellow in Physiology & Pharmacology. Thelma has also recently been appointed to Titular Membership of Instituto de Neurociências e Comportamento – (INeC), Ribeirão Preto, Brazil.


Clive Orchard has been invited to join the Wellcome Trust's Peer Review College, which is being established to provide reviews for Investigator Awards, Senior Research Fellowships and Principal Research Fellowships, and is "to be composed of around 250 eminent scientists from around the world".

Congratulations to Judy Harris on her election to The Physiological Society Council for a tenure of 4 years.  She will also be taking on the role of Deputy Chair of the Education & Outreach Committee.

Max Headley: Appointed to the Council of Understanding Animal Research as from this month.  UAR is concerned with promoting the case for the use of animals in research, including political lobbying (eg over legislation) and public education and awareness.


Andy Salmon: Elected to British Microcirculation Society committee (Jul 2012, 3 year term)

Invited member of Abbott Global Drug Advisory Board (Jul 2012)


Mark Cannell has been elected to the editorial board of the Biophysical Journal.


Jack Mellor is now an associate editor of Frontiers in Synaptic Neuroscience, April 2012

Jules Hancox has been elected to Fellowship of the British Pharmacological Society (FBPharmacolS).

Elek Molnar has become an elected member of Research Foundation Flanders (FWO, Brussels, Belgium) Cell Biology, Physiology, Physiopathology and Medical Clinical Research Expert Panel and Grant Committee.


Jack Mellor took part in a discussion of recent findings on SUMO on BBC radio Bristol for the Saturday Surgery programme 28/4/2012.

Sergey Kasparov is giving a Plenary (keynote) lecture at "Neuronus 2012" European student conference, Krakow 2012

Prizes and Awards


The School of Physiology & Pharmacology has had its silver award under the Athena SWAN Charter renewed.  The award recognises excellence in SET (science, engineering and technology) employment in higher education, with particular regard to gender equality.

We are currently the only School in the University to hold a Silver award.

Jo Murrell: Nirosha Weerasinghe won the poster award for Trainees at the Pain in Non Human Species Special Interest Group satellite meeting to IASP in Milan. The poster was entitled: Pharmacological validation of central sensitisation in the UVb and heat rekindling model in the rat NS Weerasinghe, BM Lumb, RA Apps, JC Murrell.

Awards from PhySoc (Edinburgh)

  • Eugene Lloyd delivered the Otto Hutter Teaching Prize lecture which attracted an excellent attendance. 
  • Poster Prizes: Yiting Wang was a winner for theme Epithelia and Membrane Transport. Melina Fernandes Figueiredo was a runner-up for theme Cellular and Integrative Neuroscience and also won the poster competition at the Young Physiologists' Symposium.
  • The YPS organisers also held an image competition, sponsored by Wellcome Images, which was won by Louise Hickey.
  • Four of our undergraduates were awarded Rob Clarke undergraduate abstract awards and two of them also won a Rob Clarke presentation award.
  • Jon Prager, a vet student who intercalated in 2009-10 in Neuroscience, won the Rob Clarke award for his abstract and presentation for the work he did with Lucy Donaldson and Dave Bates as a vacation student last summer.
  • Sarah James, Mina Skelly and Isabel Annett won the Rob Clarke abstract award for work carried out in Lucy Donaldson’s lab this year. Mina went on to win the award for her poster presentation at the Physiological society meeting.


  • Congratulations to Emma Robinson who has been awarded the 2012 British Pharmacological Society Bill Bowman Travelling Lectureship.
  • Dr Margret Cunningham (left) and Ms Sarah Caunt (right) win best poster and runner up spot at the BPS Conference
    Young Bristol scientists have scooped 1st and 2nd prizes for the best poster presentation at the 4th BPS Cell Signaling Conference in Leicester. Congratulations to Dr Margaret Cunningham from Stuart Mundell's lab, who was awarded the prize for the best poster and to the runner up, Ms Sarah Caunt, a 3rd year undergraduate MSci Pharmacology student who has just completed the first 6 months of industrial placement at Novartis in Horsham. It was the work that she has done there that was presented.  This was an open competition with PhD students and young post docs from across Europe presenting with a total of 74 posters presented.
  • Congrations to Judy Harris, who has been awarded the first University Award for Influence in Higher Education. This new Teaching Award was introduced by the University this year and it recognises Judy's many contributions to education at a national and an international level - it is very well deserved! For more information about the award go to
  • Melissa Gammons in the Microvascular Research Laboratories has been awarded a Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Postdoctoral Fellowships for Foreign Researchers Summer program of ~ £6,000.This is a global competition open to researchers through the National Science Foundation (USA), British Council (UK), Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique(France), Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst (Germany), and the Canadian Embassy. There are 10 awardees this year.
  • Andy Salmon has been awarded the 2012 Raftery Prize in Cardiovascular Science by the Medical Research Society, at the Medical Research Society / Academy of Medical Sciences / Royal College of Physicians Meeting for Clinician Scientists in Training.
  • Dominika Bijos, a PhD students co-supervised by Tony Pickering and Marcus Drake (FMD) won first prize (an iPad2) in a European science communication competition - "Promoting science: let's be innovative!" First Prize EU Marie Curie Research Fellows meeting, Warsaw (2012). Her prize-winning entry "To pee or not to pee" can be viewed at (PDF, 1,757kB)
  • Congratulations to Graeme Henderson who has been selected to deliver a Best of Bristol lecture ( The Best of Bristol Lectures (BoB Lectures for short) 'are a series of exciting and inspirational free talks to showcase some of Bristol University's best lecturers to its own students. BoB lectures were founded by and are run entirely by students (and recent graduates) as a not-for-profit social enterprise. The award winning first BoB lecture series happened last academic year and over 2,000 students attended the lectures.
  • tip topJames Hewinson was one of the winners of the 2010 Art of Science competition with his image "Tip-Top". Corning Life Sciences have used the image as the cover photo on their 2012 Calendar, over 15'000 copies have been printed and distributed in North America.
  • Recent Alumni

  • Congratulations to Dr Olga Konopatskaya who has just begun as a Lecturer at Hull-York Medical School until recently a post-doc with Alistair Poole.  She is setting up her own laboratory in cardiovascular signaling.  

Edit this page