South West Doctoral Training Partnership

A partnership of five universities

The South West Doctoral Training Partnership (SWDTP) builds on the success of the South West Doctoral Training Centre (SWDTC) which was established in 2011 by the Universities of Bath, Bristol and Exeter.

We have extended our strategic partnership to include the University of Plymouth and the University of the West of England (UWE), bringing together social science academic leaders across our 17 disciplinary and interdisciplinary pathways.

The SWDTP has been accredited by the Economic and Social Sciences Research Council (ESRC) and has been allocated 45 ESRC studentships annually.

Training programme

As one of only 14 partnerships in the UK, it is part of a national network that offers a unique programme of training for postgraduate students across the breadth of the social sciences.

Research training is offered in a comprehensive range of disciplines, as well as innovative multi-disciplinary programmes.

How to apply

Find out how to apply for apply for a studentship at the University of Bristol

Edit this page