Results 2019


  • University Award for Education (Arts): The Linguistics Team, School of Modern Languages (Dr Anna Havinga, Dr James Hawkey, Dr Damien Mooney)  

  • University Award for Education (Engineering):James Filbin, Engineering Faculty Office 

  • University Award for Education (Health Sciences): Dr Cathy Fuller and Dr Michelle Spear, Centre for Applied Anatomy  

  • University Award for Education (Life Sciences): Professor Judy Harris, School of Physiology, Pharmacology & Neuroscience 

  • University Award for Education (Science):Dr Mary Benton, School of Earth Sciences 

  • University Award for Education (Social Sciences and Law):Imogen Moore, University of Bristol Law School 

  • University Award for Enhancing the Student Learning Experience:Faculty Employability Team, Careers Service: Education Services (Jo Cooksley, Holly Delafield, Bryony Enright, Tim Ellis, Ellen Grace, Gareth Hughes, Natalia Mudd,   
    Dr Hannah Pearce, Eilidh Sligo) 

  • University Educational Initiative Award: Advanced Computing Research Centre Training Team, IT Services (Tom Batstone, Chris Edsall, Dianaimh Greene, Dr Lester Hedges, Dr Andrew Williams, Dr Matt Williams, Dr Christopher Woods, Callum Wright) 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Educator (Arts):Dr Mark France, School of Arts: Theatre 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Educator (Engineering): Dr Paul Harper, School of Civil, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering: Civil 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Educator (Health Sciences):Dr Sarah AllsopCentre for Applied Anatomy 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Educator (Life Sciences):Dr Stephen SoffeSchool of Biological Sciences 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Educator (Science):Dr Charles Cox, School of Mathematics 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Educator (Social Sciences and Law):Dr Alix Dietzel, School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Postgraduate Student: Raffaello Rossi, School of Economics, Finance and Management: Management 

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Support:Dr Peter Dunne, University of Bristol Law School   

  • Students’ Award for Outstanding Supervision of Research Students:Dr Annela Seddon, School of Physics 

James Filbin was selected from the seventeen award winners to receive the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Education in recognition of the critical work of technical staff in supporting students. The hackspacewhich James runs, is a shining example of an initiative which actively encourages all kinds of students to get involved and try things out in a safe and supported learning environment; it has had a positive impact on students right across the Faculty and has materially influenced the University’s thinking about the design of similar space for the Temple Quarter campus. 

Edit this page